CraSh Williams' Blog

New suit Sir, ooo suits you Sir

Posted by Cool Your Jets IV on June 27, 2011

With so many tailors offering to make hand-made suits, it’s difficult to know where or who to use – there’s so many horror stories out there that it really is a case of pot luck and finding someone you like and have confidence in. The majority of tailors in Bangkok are located in the Sukhumvit area all of whom seem or are, Indian!

With so many differing offers; extra trousers, couple of shirts, this material that material, I eventually wandered into ‘Jimmy’s Tailors’ near Nana Station at 73/6 Corner of Soi 3/1 (he’s soon to relocate, his email is jimmys@london.com) No pressure, very easy-going and happy to listen to my requirements, offering lots of good advice – I’ve since found out, he also visits London reguarly as he has a number of clients there as well – he’ll be a good contact, moreso if I get an office based job on my return!

After browsing several brochures, I eventually found the suit I was looking for – a matt black, skinny fitting, 1960’s style ‘mod’ suit.

Jimmy did try to talk me out of black though I was keen and he sensed that was what I wanted so he then went on to take my measurements. Sizing – I’m pretty sure the sizing in Asia is different to the UK, there’s absolutely no way I’m a 3* inch waist!

After the measuring, it was a case of choosing the material – I chose a really nice wool, quite fine and light.

Jimmy said to come back in a couple of days for my first fitting.

I was quite surprised to find that my ‘first-fitting’ involved the bare bones of the suit – I was expecting my suit to be there and almost good to go with a little fine-tuning taking place – what did I know!

Using chalk, he marked up where it needed taking in, and general tailoring type ‘stuff!’

Once done he suggested coming back in a few more days to collect…

What can I say, the suit is superb and I’m very pleased, it fits like the proverbial glove! As requested he left the trousers long so I can get them tailored back in the UK.

Check out the phots!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

3 Responses to “New suit Sir, ooo suits you Sir”

  1. col said

    Smoking…..

  2. Marek said

    How much was the suit? It looks excellent, well done.

    • Hi Marek – I’m loving the suit os thanks for the comment!

      Re the price, it wasn’t too expensive – my wife paid so will find out from her, if she tells me!

Leave a Reply

 
